A Whole Lotta HUMP

Hi friends!

There seems to be so much happening lately, I can barely keep up! I am so grateful that I was able to participate in the Alchemy for Writers 101 event last Sunday, held at a landmark, The Alchemist Theater in Bay View, Wisconsin. There were over 50 writers gathered, and my presentation was on (guess what?) Flash Fiction! I have to thank Mike Timms for all of his hard work in making this event come alive, as well as Sheila Julson for asking me to participate. And a nod to community spirit among writers! Alchemy for Writers | Project Empty Space

Here are some other current happenings:

1) I’m reading with the uber-talented Jason Lee Norman on his America’s Book Tour next Monday, July 23rd at 7 p.m. at the Riverwest Public House, 815 E. Locust Street. Here is more information: http://riverwestpublichouse.wordpress.com/ Please help us spread the word and bring your friends!

2) If you want to know a little more about Jason Lee Norman, read this interview with him at LitStack: http://litstack.com/?p=7882

3) xTx’s “Last Things” up at Thrush Poetry: http://thrushpoetryjournal.com/?p=1860&preview=true

4) Meg Tuite delivers the goods (when doesn’t she?!) for July Connotation Press, fiction issue: http://connotationpress.com/fiction.html. Includes Timothy Gager, DJ Berndt, Lisa Marie Basile, Harley May and so many others!

5) Casey Hannon is “Headless” at Matchbook! :http://www.matchbooklitmag.com/

6) Deep thoughts by Steve Almond at The Baffler: http://www.thebaffler.com/past/the_jokes_on_you

7) Press 1 is chock full of goodies. Including stellar James Claffey: http://www.leafscape.org/press1/v6n1/claffey.html. And the inimitable Marcus Speh: http://www.leafscape.org/press1/v6n1/speh.html. Also fine poet, James Valvis: http://www.leafscape.org/press1/v6n1/valvis.html

8) A wonderfully tender and sad story by Matthew Salesses at Guernica: http://www.guernicamag.com/fiction/high-schools-or-how-to-be-asian-american/

9) I have no clue how I missed this gem from Berit Ellingsen at Everyday Genius: http://www.everyday-genius.com/2012/05/berit-ellingson.html

10) Molly Gaudry’s lovely “No-Nation Woman” is up at Barrelhouse: http://www.barrelhousemag.com/no-nation-woman-by-molly-gaudry/

Bonus Features:

Thrice Fiction, July 2012 issue is out! My piece, “There’s No Place like Home” is included on page 36. Thanks, editor Bob Spryszac! http://www.thricefiction.com/pdf/ThriceFiction005X.pdf

July Blue Five Notebook: http://bluefifthreview.wordpress.com/2012/07/10/blue-five-notebook-july-2012-12-13/

NAP 2.8 is out!!!: NAP

New Sixth Finch: http://sixthfinch.com/mainsummer12.html

12 thoughts on “A Whole Lotta HUMP

  1. Dez

    I bet your presentation on Flash Fiction was fantastic for the workshop you taught last weekend. Those participants were lucky to have you. Keep up the great work.

    Reply
  2. Denise

    Hello Robert, that is a cool post. It gave me exactly the information I was looking for! Can’t wait to dive into all the others!

    Reply
  3. Caroline

    Keep up the great, amazing work by posting incredible posts, as you always do. I adore reading them every weekend!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *